1927
Weißenhof­sied­lung Stuttgart

A Testimony to Neues Bauen

In 1907, 12 artists and 12 industrialists proclaimed the foundation of the Deutscher Werkbund (German Association of Craftsmen). Their aim was to enhance the quality and international reputation of German products in a cooperation of the arts, industry and crafts. With its ambition of designing everything “from cushions to cities”, the Deutscher Werkbund became a cultural authority that sought to promote and influence the development of taste in all aspects of life. 

The Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart (Weissenhof Estate in Stuttgart) is one of the most important testimonies to the Neues Bauen (New Way of Building) movement. As a 1927 building exhibition entitled “Die Wohnung” (“The Residence”), the Estate presented new forms of living, which had been called for and promoted by the Deutscher Werkbund, to a national and international audience. 17 architects from a variety of countries participated in the exhibition. They included Le Corbusier, Gropius and Scharoun. At the time, these names were only known to the international avant garde – now they are considered among the most important masters of modern architecture. Under the artistic guidance of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, they created an exemplary residential programme for modern metropolitan man. 21 model houses were developed.

The Weißenhofsiedlung building exhibition exemplifies the state of the art in architecture and residential building of the time. Formal coherence was achieved through the fundamentally similar architectural approaches of the participating architects and the requirement of using “revolutionary” flat roofs only. Devoid of decoration or ornamentation, the cubic architecture of the Weißenhofsiedlung epitomised modernist architecture. At the time, 50,000 people visited the exhibition. The architecture was controversial: it pitted open-minded against conservative forces, flat roof against gable roof, and modernism against tradition.

Today, the Weißenhofsiedlung is considered a built manifesto of a modern and open-minded attitude to life, and stands out among 20th century building exhibitions as a prototype.

Address:
Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart

Architects:
Architekten: Peter Behrens, Victor Burgeois, Le Corbussier, Richard Döcker, Josef Frank, Walter Gropius, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Pierre Jeanneret, Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud, Hans Poelzig, Adolf Rading, Mies van der Rohe, Hans Scharoun, Adolf Schneck, Mart Stam, Bruno Taut, Max Taut

Sources and further information:
Werner Durth, Paul Sigel: Baukultur. Spiegel gesellschaftlichen Wandels, Berlin 2010.
M:AI Museum für Architektur und Ingenieurkunst NRW, IBA Hamburg (Hrsg.): IBA meets IBA. Eine Ausstellung zur 100jährigen Geschichte der Internationalen Bauausstellungen, (o.J.).

Weissenhofmuseum

Overall view of the Weissenhof Estate Stuttgart, around 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
The house by Hans Scharoun is in the foreground, Postcard 1927 © Freunde der Weissenhofsiedlung e.V.
Rooftop garden of the house by Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret, Postcard around 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
5 terraced houses by Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud, Postcard around 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Overall view of the houses by Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret, Postcard around 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Bedroom in the house by Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret, Postcard around 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
The double house by Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret has housed the Weissenhof Museum since 2006, 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum
The houses by Hans Scharoun (foreground) and Peter Behrens (background), 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum
House by Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret, 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum

1927
Weißenhof­sied­lung Stuttgart

Zeugnis Neuen Bauens

1907 riefen 12 Künstler und 12 Industrielle dazu auf, den deutschen Werkbund zu gründen. Durch die Zusammenarbeit von Kunst, Industrie und Handwerk sollte die Qualität deutscher Produkte und ihr Ansehen im Ausland gesteigert werden. Mit dem umfassenden Gestaltungsanspruch „vom Sofakissen bis zum Städtebau“ wurde der Deutsche Werkbund zu einer kulturellen Instanz, die die Geschmacksbildung in allen Bereichen des Lebens zu fördern und zu prägen suchte. 

Die Stuttgarter Weißenhofsiedlung ist eines der bedeutendsten Zeugnisse des Neuen Bauens. Als Bauausstellung mit dem Titel „Die Wohnung“ präsentierte sie 1927 erstmals national und international die vom Deutschen Werkbund postulierten und geförderten neuen Formen des Wohnens. An der Ausstellung beteiligten sich 17 Architekten aus verschiedenen Ländern. Dazu gehörten Le Corbusier, Gropius und Scharoun. Damals waren sie nur in Kreisen der internationalen Avantgarde bekannt – heute zählen sie zu den bedeutendsten Meistern der modernen Architektur. Unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe schufen sie ein mustergültiges Wohnprogramm für den modernen Großstadtmenschen. Es entstanden 21 Musterhäuser.

Die Bauausstellung Weißenhofsiedlung zeigt die damals aktuelle Entwicklung der Architektur und des Wohnungsbaus. Ein formaler Zusammenhang wurde durch die grundsätzlich ähnlichen Architekturauffassungen der mitwirkenden Architekten und die Vorgabe der „revolutionären“ Flachdächer erreicht. Schmuck- und ornamentlos repräsentierte die kubische Architektur der Weißenhofsiedlung die Baukunst der Moderne. 50.000 Menschen besuchten seinerzeit die Ausstellung. Die Siedlung polarisiert: aufgeschlossene gegen konservative Kräfte, Flachdach gegen Satteldach, Moderne gegen Tradition.

Die Weißenhofsiedlung gilt bis heute als gebautes Manifest für ein modernes und offenes Lebensgefühl und ragt als Prototyp aus den Bauausstellungen des 20. Jahrhunderts hervor. 

Adresse:
Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart

Architekten:
Peter Behrens, Victor Burgeois, Le Corbussier, Richard Döcker, Josef Frank, Walter Gropius, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Pierre Jeanneret, Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud, Hans Poelzig,  Adolf Rading, Mies van der Rohe, Hans Scharoun, Adolf Schneck, Mart Stam, Bruno Taut, Max Taut

Quellen und weitere Informationen:
Werner Durth, Paul Sigel: Baukultur. Spiegel gesellschaftlichen Wandels, Berlin 2010.
M:AI Museum für Architektur und Ingenieurkunst NRW, IBA Hamburg (Hrsg.): IBA meets IBA. Eine Ausstellung zur 100jährigen Geschichte der Internationalen Bauausstellungen, (o.J.).

Weissenhofmuseum

Gesamtansicht der Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart, um 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Im Vordergrund das Haus von Hans Scharoun, Postkarte, 1927 © Freunde der Weissenhofsiedlung e.V.
Dachgarten des Hauses Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret, Postkarte um 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
5 Reihenhäuser von Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud, Postkarte um 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Gesamtansicht der Häuser von Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret, Postkarte um 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Schlafzimmer im Haus von Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret, Postkarte um 1927 © Stadtarchiv Stuttgart
Das Doppelhaus von Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret beherbergt seit 2006 das Weissenhofmuseum, 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum
Die Häuser von Hans Scharoun (Vordergrund) und Peter Behrens (Hintergrund), 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum
Haus von Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret, 2010 © González / Weissenhofmuseum